HomeMediaNews“Bigyan Memorial Research Award” and “Raju Memorial Youth Award” Winners

“Bigyan Memorial Research Award” and “Raju Memorial Youth Award” Winners

In the memory and honor of Late Bigyan Acharya, an environmentalist and a member of ENPHO, ENPHO has established “Bigyan Memorial Research Award” which is awarded every year to individual enabling him/her to conduct research work in the field of environment and science.

It is also intended to support the younger generation interested to work in the sector of environment. Similarly, ENPHO has also established “Raju Memorial Youth Award” in the memory of Late Raju Shrestha who worked in ENPHO and was dedicated to work for access to safe drinking water especially in rural areas of Nepal. The award is also presented annually to an individual or organization working remarkably in water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) sector in Nepal.

In continuation of presenting these awards, this year too, ENPHO announced the winners of “Bigyan Memorial Research Award” and “Raju Memorial Youth Award” amidst its 25th Annual General Meeting on 10 September 2016. Ms. Alina Maharjan received the ‘Bigyan Memorial Research Award’ which includes the certificate and a grant of Rs. 25,000 for the research entitled “Phytoremediation Potential of Vetiver Grass for Treatment of Bagmati River Water”. In her absence, Ms. Maharjan’s brother received the award.  Similarly, Ms. Bimala Gurung received the ‘Raju Memorial Youth Award’ for her initiative on voluntary services on WASH after the mega earthquake and advocacy on rainwater harvesting and management. Ms. Gurung was presented the certificate and a grant of Rs. 10,000. ENPHO Patron Dr. Roshan Raj Shrestha and ENPHO Chairperson Ms. Urmila Joshi presented the ‘Bigyan Memorial Research Award’ and ‘Raju Memorial Youth Award’ respectively.




Go to top